2021 Agenda

Join us virtually to engage with expert speakers and share and learn new ideas from lawyers, advocates, and NGOs all working to increase access to justice globally. The agenda below outlines 3 days of sector meetings, workshops, panel discussions, screenings, and networking opportunities.

Register

Agenda and speakers subject to change.
October 18, 2021

See detail for all meeting times

Global Clearinghouse Lab

Open to pro bono clearinghouses and civil society organizations

Join PILnet’s annual gathering of pro bono clearinghouses and civil society organizations, where we will discuss opportunities and challenges unique to working with pro bono and public interest lawyers to create more just, equitable, and sustainable societies. We will share learnings from a year managing the pandemic and discuss the future of pro bono brokerage, cooperation between civil society and private sector, and how we can create greater impact in the field.

Option 1: 6p AET | 3p HKT | 9a CET

Option 2: 5p CET | 11a ET | 8a PT

Meeting attendees are welcome to join either session.

DETAILS

See detail for all meeting times

Global Meeting of Law Firm Pro Bono Professionals

Open to law firm professionals only

Presented in partnership with the Association of Pro Bono Counsel (APBCo), this meeting is for law firm pro bono professionals. In this year’s session, participants will discuss developments in law firm ESG (environmental, social, and corporate governance) practice areas and if and how they intersect and overlap with pro bono and corporate social responsibility efforts.

Option 1: 6p AET | 3p HKT | 9a CET

Option 2: 5p CET | 11a ET | 8a PT

Meeting attendees are welcome to join either session.

DETAILS

See detail for all meeting times

Global Meeting of In-House Counsel Pro Bono Professionals

Open to corporate in-house counsel and related professionals only

This interactive meeting will provide an opportunity for corporate in-house counsel and other in-house professionals to share in a productive conversation with counterparts from around the world. Participants will learn more about global associations of in-house counsel and hear updates from the in-house community. Participants then have an option of two interactive breakout sessions: Pro Bono 101, for those starting a pro bono program, and Global Pro Bono, for those looking to expand their current pro bono program.

Asia-Pacific: 6p AET | 3p HKT | 9a CET

Europe, Africa, Americas: 5p CET | 11a ET | 8a PT

Meeting participants are encouraged to attend the session for their region.

DETAILS

See detail for all meeting times

Joint Meeting of Law Firm, Clearinghouse, and In-House Counsel Pro Bono Professionals

Open to all

In this meeting, PILnet invites law firm, corporate, clearinghouse, and civil society partners to meet one another in interactive breakout groups. This will be an opportunity to make new contacts, reconnect with partners, and dig deeper on topics discussed in the earlier sessions

Option 1: 8:30p AET | 5:30p HKT |11:30a CET

Option 2: 7:30p CET | 1:30p ET | 10:30a PT

Meeting attendees are welcome to join either session.

DETAILS
October 19, 2021

2:45p HK/8:45a CET/2:45a ET

Welcome from PILnet

3p HKT/9a CET/3a ET

Beyond the Social Audit: Labor and Human Rights Risks in the Global Supply Chain

The disaster of Rana Plaza in Bangladesh in 2013 tragically killed more than 1,000 people. It also put on display the inadequacy of so-called social audits, one of which had been conducted on the buildings before the collapse. This session explores social audit firms’ obligations and the role of lawyers in strengthening human rights due diligence systems and practice for companies.

Speakers

  • Chara De Lacey, Business & Human Rights Resource Centre
  • Ana Maria Soto, Issara Institute

Sponsored by:

DETAILS

4:30p HKT/10:30a CET/4:30a ET

Global Implications, Local Impact: Can International Lawyers Help Local Communities?

Screening of Stolen Fish documentary

Screening of an award-winning documentary followed by discussion focused on the role of law and lawyers in situations as experienced by local communities as in the Gambian example, how communities could use existing legal frameworks to protect their environmental rights and natural resources, and how pro bono lawyers could support these efforts.

DETAILS

6p HKT/12p CET/6a ET

Paths to Resilience: Compliance, Risk Management, and the Health of NGOs

Creating healthy institutions may start with legal compliance and risk management, but what else is necessary? This session will feature illustrative examples from jurisdictions around the world and seek to understand all of the ingredients necessary to ensure a vibrant civil society.

Speakers:

  • Özgür Kahale, DLA Piper
  • Katerina Hadzi-Miceva Evans, ECNL
  • Kelly Leung, UBS, Hong Kong

Moderated by Jonathan Davis, PILnet

DETAILS

7:30p HKT/1:30p CET/7:30a ET

Featured Session: Environmental Rule of Law, Just Transition, and Environmental Justice: Defending the Public Interest

Speaker: Zuzanna Rudzińska-Bluszcz, Polish Human Rights Lawyer

The climate crisis is a human rights crisis. There are no human rights on a dead planet and we cannot save ourselves and the planet without respecting human rights. How can the power of law be utilized and what role can lawyers play in the process of Europe’s withdrawal from investment in fossil fuels and energy transition?

DETAILS

9p HKT/3p CET/9a ET

Featured Session: Facilitating Equal Access to Justice for All

Speaker: Sara Hossain, Deputy Head of Chambers, Dr. Kamal Hoosain and Associates

Which groups are being left behind as we strive towards the realization of SDG16 and equal access to justice for all? This workshop aims to identify some of the key groups consistently being left behind and encourage the sharing of good practices, cross-fertilization of legal strategies, and networking between the legal actors and community leaders working with these different groups.

DETAILS

10:30p HKT/4:30p CET/10:30a ET

Featured Session: Workplace Misconduct in the Legal Profession

Speaker: Angela Mudukuti, International Criminal Justice Lawyer

Bullying, sexual harassment, racism, sexism, discrimination — these are a few examples of toxic behavior that is unfortunately all too common in the legal profession. It is not just law firms but non-governmental organizations, and international organizations including the International Criminal Court that battle with various forms of workplace misconduct.

DETAILS

12a HKT/6p CET/12p ET

Business and Human Rights: How to Protect Public Interest in Arbitration

Participants in this session discuss the role of the public interest in arbitration and the Investor-State Dispute Settlement Reform, with a focus on arbitration reform in Russia and protecting the public interest in dispute resolution.

Speakers:

  • Dolores Bentolila, White & Case
  • Fedor Belykh, Latham & Watkins
  • Diane Desierto, University of Notre Dame

Moderator: Nicola Peart, Three Crowns

DETAILS

1:30a HKT/7:30p CET/1:30p ET

The Future of the Global Refugee Forum Legal Community Joint Pledge

Drawing on the experiences of the first year of implementation of the Global Refugee Forum Legal Community Pledge, this interactive panel highlights the value of and challenges in implementing collaborative access-to-justice projects to address the legal needs of refugees and others forcibly displaced and discuss what lies ahead for the Pledge.

DETAILS
October 20, 2021

3p HKT/9a CET/3a ET

Building Regional Networks of Public Interest Lawyers

By invitation only

A networking session that aims to strengthen regional networks of public interest lawyers, particularly among participants of PILnet’s fellowship programs and other regional groups.

DETAILS

4p HKT/10a CET/ 4a ET

Meet PILnet

A networking session where you can get to know and engage with PILnet.

DETAILS

4:30p HKT/10:30a CET/4:30a ET

Law and Climate Change: How to Make a Difference

In this session, panelists showcase strategies and examples of empowering local activists and communities around the world to fight for their environmental rights, illustrate effective legal strategies, and use pro bono for climate and environmental justice.

Speakers:

  • Khadija Juma, Save Lamu
  • Jinmei Liu, Friends of Nature
  • Claire Donse, DLA Piper
DETAILS

7:30p HKT/1:30p CET/7:30a ET

Access to Legal Aid and Pro Bono Assistance for Children in Conflict with Law in Europe

A review of access to legal aid and pro bono assistance for children in conflict with law in Europe followed by a networking session to raise awareness on children’s rights to access justice and expand the network around the CLEAR-Rights project, an initiative co-funded by the European Union’s Justice Programme.

Speakers

  • Marcos de Barros, TDH Europe
  • Laurene Graziani, Proteknon
  • Representatives of the Child Advisory Board

Moderated by Giulia Patane, PILnet

DETAILS

9p HKT/ 3p CET/9a EST

The Role of Lawyers in Mass Protest

Join conversation with the UN Special Rapporteur on Peaceful Assembly and practicing legal professionals working on the ground about the Role of Lawyers in Mass Protest.

Speaker:

  • Clément Nyaletsossi Voule, Special Rapporteur on Rights to Freedom of Peaceful Assembly and of Association
DETAILS

10:30p HKT/4:30p CET/ 10:30a ET

Targeted Networking: Meet PILnet

A networking session where you can get to know and engage with PILnet.

DETAILS

11p HKT/5p CET/11a ET

Global Perspectives on Pro Bono

This session brings together a panel of professionals and contributors to the upcoming book Global Pro Bono: Causes, Context, and Contestation in discussion on the history and current state of pro bono in various jurisdictions, showcasing the diversity of institutionalization and political systems and how these factors affect pro bono practice around the world.

Speakers:

  • Jeremy Perelman, Sciences Po
  • Fabio de Sa E Silva, University of Oklahoma
  • Thabang Nthabi Pooe, Thulamela Group of Advocates

Moderated by Scott Cummings, University of California, Los Angeles

DETAILS

12:15a HKT/6:15p CET/12:15p ET

Lessons Learned in Protecting the Public Interest and Victims of SLAPPs Across the World

This networking-style interactive session explores ideas about possible ways private sector can get more engaged in providing pro bono legal assistance to protect the public interest and victims of SLAPPs, especially focusing on good practices from the different anti-SLAPPs networks across the world.

Speakers

  • Leanne Govindsamy, Asina Loyiko
  • Charlie Holt, Greenpeace International
  • Lauren Regan, Civil Liberties Defense Center

Introduction by Leila Saad, PILnet

DETAILS

1:30a HKT/7:30p CET/1:30p ET

Getting Resources to Where They Matter: Funding Local Pro Bono and Public Interest Law Activities

How can we get financial resources to local organizations where they really matter? And what role can international and regional actors play in supporting these efforts?

Speakers

  • Julie Broome, Ariadne
  • Stacey Cram, Namati
  • Amy Grunske, Orrick

Moderated by Ana Maria Enriquez, Human Rights Funder Network

Sponsored by: 

DETAILS